REQUIREMENTS WHEN FILING A COMPLAINT

- 1. The complainant (person making the complaint) must, in good faith, make full, fair, and honest disclosure of all facts and circumstances known to him/her at the time the complaint is made. The facts, as presented, must be in the form of a formal complaint. This formal complaint will form the basis of any further investigation and of the charging instrument.
- 2. The complainant must appear in court to testify against the defendant if the charges are contested by the accused and a trial is held.
- 3. If the defendant is found guilty, the maximum sentence that may be assessed in Justice of the Peace Court is a fine of up to \$500.00, plus court costs and fees. There can be no jail time. The defendant may appeal the case to a higher court.
- 4. The defendant may file a counter-complaint if the complainant has also been involved in some illegal activity. Please be advised that any statement made at this time or in the future to a prosecutor or other investigator may be used against you should there be a counter. Please be advised that when speaking to the prosecutor, that the prosecutor represents the state and no attorney-client relationship is established by any communications.
- 5. Once a case is filed, only a Justice of the Peace Court Judge, upon recommendation of a prosecutor, has the authority to dismiss the case.
- 6. The prosecutor reserves the right to subpoena the citizen-complainant and to enforce the subpoena by ordering a peace officer to bring the citizen-complainant to court.
- 7. Bring the formal complaint to the corresponding Justice of the Peace Office located at 2840 Hwy 35 N, Rockport, Texas, 78382. Complaints must either be notarized or accompanied by the attached Declaration in order to be processed.

AFFIDAVIT BY CITIZEN NON-TRAFFIC/OTHER VIOLATIONS

Information About You:

*Your Name:		
*Address:		
*City, State, Zip:		
*Phone Number:	Work Phone Number:	
Email Address (if any):		
The Undersigned Affiant Swo	ears To The Following Statement: Defendant Information	•
*Name of Defendant (Person Accuse	ed):	
*Address:		
*City, State, Zip:		_
*Phone Number:	Work Phone Number:	_
*How did you determine the defenda	ant's name?	
*Can you identify the defendant (Ye	s or No)? (If no, it will not be possible to process your compl	aint)
Description of defendant: Race: _	Sex: Height:	
Email:		
Social Media Sites & Screen Names		

	CAUSE NUMBER:		
STATE OF TEXAS	§	IN THE JUSTICE COURT	
VS.	§	PRECINCT	
	§	ARANSAS COUNTY, TX	
	In the name and by the authorit	y of the State of Texas:	
I, the undersigned affian	t, do solemnly swear that I l	ave good reason to believe and do belie	eve that
	, hereinafter called Defend	ant, on or about the day of	,
20, and before the making	and filing of this complaint, in the	erritorial limits of the County of Aransas, and the	State of
Texas, the Defendant did then a	nd there intentionally or knowingly	damage or destroy tangible property, to wit:	
by	without the effective cons	ent of, the	e owner,
and did thereby cause (pecuniary	y loss in the amount of less than \$10	0 to the owner) (substantial inconvenience to oth	ers).
Against the peace and dignity	of the State.		
		Affiant:	
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIE	BED BEFORE ME BY	a credible person, thi	.S
day of	, 20		

Notary

DECLARATION UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY

This declaration is sworn testimony, meaning that you can be proyou lie, mislead, or omit important information.	osecuted, go to jail, or pay a fine if
I certify under penalty of perjury, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1746, the correct.	at the attached complaint is true and
Executed on Date	
	Signature of Declarant